SearchSearch   ProfileProfile   Log inLog in   RegisterRegister 

Login without billing (Forum answers I've read did not work)

 
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum
View previous topic :: View next topic  
Author Message
Dean Notarnicola
Guest





PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 4:44 am    
Post subject: Login without billing (Forum answers I've read did not work)

Greetings,
I would like to set up FirstSpot to require users to be able to self-register, but not bill. The other answers I've read in this column (ie. modifying the HTML) did not work properly, displaying errors on the page and/or not redirecting to the users requested page. Is there a way to allow the user to self-register and then go directly to their requested page?
Thank you in advance.
Back to top
alan
Forum facilitator


Joined: 26 Sep 2003
Posts: 4435

PostPosted: Tue May 31, 2005 4:51 am    
Post subject:

Are you referring to the workaround specified in http://www.patronsoft.com/forum/viewtopic.php?t=713 ?

What is the exact error that you encounter?
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
dnotarnicola



Joined: 02 Jun 2005
Posts: 1
Location: Parsippany, NJ 07054

PostPosted: Thu Jun 02, 2005 9:25 pm    
Post subject: Login without billing (Forum answers I've read did not work)

Alan,
Thank you. Actually, the method in the referenced article does work. So, my question is:

Is there a way after login to have the browser redirect to the user's originally requested page (as would happen during a normal registration and login), rather than the one specified in the modified HTML from the workaround (ie. yahoo.com)?

Thank you in advance.

Dean Notarnicola
Back to top
jason
Forum facilitator


Joined: 30 Nov 2004
Posts: 95
Location: Hong Kong

PostPosted: Fri Jun 03, 2005 3:48 am    
Post subject:

The closest solution is to redirect the login page to the user and take him to the requested page after logging in.

you need to modify the following pages:

signup_form.php

replace:
<input type="hidden" name="success_url" value=cart.php>

with
<input type="hidden" name="success_url" value=login_form.php>

fs_signup.php
replace:
$status_message ="<span class=\"textspan\">".$return_result_text[0]."</span><br><a class=\"freelink\" href=".$success_url."?username=".$username.">".$success_message_footer."</a><br>";

with
$status_message ="<span class=\"textspan\">".$return_result_text[0]."</span><br><a class=\"freelink\" href=".$success_url.">".$success_message_footer."</a><br>";

and replace

if ($create_result == 0)
{
$submit_url=$success_url."?username=".$username;
$form_element="username";
$element_value=$username;
if(!session_id()){
session_start();
}
session_register("session_username");
$session_username=$username;
}
with
if ($create_result == 0)
{
$submit_url=$success_url;
$form_element="";
$element_value="";
if(!session_id()){
session_start();
}
}

let me know if there is any problem.
_________________
~ Patronsoft Limited ~
Back to top
Display posts from previous:   
Post new topic   Reply to topic    FirstSpot Forum Index -> Pre-sales Support Forum All times are GMT
Page 1 of 1

 
Jump to:  
You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot vote in polls in this forum


Powered by phpBB © 2001, 2005 phpBB Group